ⓕ font-size

  • -2
  • -1
  • 0
  • +1
  • +2

OECD members to discuss digital government in Seoul today

  • Facebook share button
  • Twitter share button
  • Kakao share button
  • Mail share button
  • Link share button
By Park Ji-won

An international meeting of OECD members and experts will be held in Seoul from Tuesday to Wednesday to discuss digitization of government administration systems.

The Ministry of the Interior and Safety is hosting the annual meeting with 100 senior officials from 36 governments of OECD member nations, partner countries and experts to tackle risks in applying the latest technologies to make the public sector more responsive and sustainable.

"Digital transformation in the public sector will lead to transformation of a country. Each transformation will shape the future for the entire international community," Interior and Safety Minister Kim Boo-kyum said in a press release.

During the meeting, an initiative called "The E-Leaders Without Border" will be introduced. The plan aims to seek joint growth among international communities while seeking to help enhance the e-government capabilities of developing countries by sharing its activities with them. It is also looking for ways to relate with the U.N.'s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

On the agenda of "Digital Transformation: Exploring how emerging technologies meet the needs of a user-driven public sector," participants will share the latest developments and practices of e-government and discuss major challenges to seek its sustainable development.

OECD Deputy Secretary-General Mari Kiviniemi, and Gertrud Ingestad, the director-general of the EU Commission's Department for Informatics (DIGIT), will also participate along with other key officials and experts from various countries.

On the sidelines of the OECD meeting, the Global Digital Government Forum will be held on Thursday. At this forum, Vice Interior Minister Shim Bo-kyun and Ingestad will deliver an opening speech, while officials from countries using leading e-government systems such as Denmark, Canada, the Netherlands and Finland will join the discussion panel.

Park Ji-won


Top 10 Stories

go top LETTER